Africa Expat Wives Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Moving from India to join my husband giving up my job in India

2 posters

Go down

Moving from India to join my husband giving up my job in India Empty Moving from India to join my husband giving up my job in India

Post  shamini Tue Oct 11, 2011 5:45 pm

Hi All,

I am planning to move to from India to Nairobi to join my husband who is employed in Nairobi.This would mean i have to give up my job & I am really apprehensive about it.As i will be considered a dependant I will not be able to work.Is there some way I can work in Nairobi I am a qualified Chartered Accountant.
Please advice.Would be very grateful for any information.

Shamini

shamini

Back to top Go down

Moving from India to join my husband giving up my job in India Empty Leaving India - working in Kenya

Post  Admin Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:14 am

Hi Shamini,
I totally understand that you are apprehensive about the move but while you will initially be a dependent on your husband's entry pass, it is possible for you to get a work permit here in Kenya so that you can continue on your career path. It's also great that you are thinking about this now, in advance of moving, this way you can get wheels in motion before you even arrive. If your husband is already here, he can put feelers out for you too.